

Proceedings of a third Extraordinary Meeting of the Leeds City Council held at the Civic Hall, Leeds on Wednesday, 12th December, 2007

PRESENT: The Lord Mayor Councillor Brian Cleasby in the Chair

WARD WARD

ADEL & WHARFEDALE CALVERLEY & FARSLEY

John Leslie Carter

Clive Fox Frank Robinson
Barry John Anderson Andrew Carter

ALWOODLEY CHAPEL ALLERTON

Ruth Feldman

Peter Mervyn Harrand Jane Dowson Ronald David Feldman Sharon Hamilton

ARDSLEY & ROBIN HOOD CITY & HUNSLET

Jack Dunn Patrick Davey

Lisa Mulherin Karen Renshaw

ARMLEY CROSS GATES & WHINMOOR

James McKenna Pauleen Grahame
Peter John Gruen

Alison Natalie Kay Lowe Suzi Armitage

BEESTON & HOLBECK FARNLEY & WORTLEY

Adam Ogilvie Ann Blackburn
David Congreve Luke Russell
Angela Gabriel David Blackburn

BRAMLEY & STANNINGLEY GARFORTH & SWILLINGTON

Ted Hanley Mark Dobson
Neil Taggart Thomas Murray
Andrea McKenna

BURMANTOFTS & RICHMOND HILL GIPTON & HAREHILLS

Richard Brett Arif Hussain
David Hollingsworth Roger Harington
Ralph Pryke Alan Leonard Taylor

GUISELEY & RAWDON

Stuart Andrew John Bale Graham Latty

HAREWOOD

Rachael Procter Alec Shelbrooke Ann Castle

HEADINGLEY

James John Monaghan Martin Hamilton David Morton

HORSFORTH

Andrew Barker Brian Cleasby Christopher Townsley

HYDE PARK & WOODHOUSE

Kabeer Hussain Linda Valerie Rhodes-Clayton Penny Ewens

KILLINGBECK & SEACROFT

Veronica Morgan Brian Michael Selby Graham Hyde

KIPPAX & METHLEY

James Lewis Keith Ivor Wakefield John Keith Parker

KIRKSTALL

John Anthony Illingworth Bernard Peter Atha Flizabeth M Minkin

MIDDLETON PARK

Judith Blake Debra Ann Coupar Geoffrey Driver

MOORTOWN

Brenda Lancaster Richard Harker Mark Daniel Harris

MORLEY NORTH

Robert William Gettings Thomas Leadley Robert Finnigan

MORLEY SOUTH

Terrence Grayshon Christopher James Beverley Judith Elliot

OTLEY & YEADON

Colin Campbell Ryk Downes Graham Peter Kirkland

PUDSEY

Richard Alwyn Lewis

Josephine Patricia Jarosz

ROTHWELL

Steve Smith Barry Stewart Golton Donald Michael Wilson

ROUNDHAY

Valerie Kendall Paul Wadsworth Matthew Lobley

TEMPLE NEWSAM

Jacqueline Langdale Michael Lyons

WEETWOOD

Susan Bentley Judith Mara Chapman Brian David Timothy Jennings

WETHERBY

Alan James Lamb John Michael Procter Gerald Wilkinson

61 Declarations of Interest

Declarations of interest for this meeting are referred to in minute 59 of the preceding meeting.

62 Identity Cards

It was moved by Councillor Brett seconded by Councillor Bale and

RESOLVED –That this Council does not support Labour's proposals to introduce national identity cards, and calls for the withdrawal of the scheme immediately, and for the money saved to be used to provide more front line resources to combat crime.

On the requisition of Councillors J L Carter and A Carter the voting on the motion was recorded as follows:

YES

Anderson, Andrew, Bale, Barker, Bentley, Beverley, A Blackburn, D Blackburn, Brett, Campbell, A Carter, J L Carter, Castle, Chapman, Downes, Elliot, Ewens, Mrs R Feldman, R D Feldman, Finnigan, Fox, Gettings, Golton, Grayshon, M Hamilton, Harker, Harrand, Hollingsworth, Jennings, Kendall, Kirkland, Lamb, Lancaster, Latty, Leadley, Lobley, Monaghan, Morton, J Procter, R Procter, Pryke, Rhodes-Clayton, Robinson, Russell, Shelbrooke, Smith, Taylor, Townsley, Wadsworth, Wilkinson, Wilson

<u>51</u>

ABSTAIN

Armitage, Atha, Blake, Congreve, Coupar, Davey, Dobson, Dowson, Driver, Dunn, Gabriel, Grahame, Gruen, S Hamilton, Hanley, Harington, A Hussain, K Hussain, G Hyde, Illingworth, Jarosz, Langdale, J Lewis, R Lewis, Lowe, Lyons, A McKenna, Minkin, Morgan, Mulherin, Murray, Ogilvie, Parker, Renshaw, Selby, Taggart, Wakefield

<u>37</u>

(The meeting concluded at 4.20 pm)